This article provides guidance on:

  • How entries interact with usage restrictions on discounts and Class Passes
  • Adding entries to your schedule
  • Adding future dates to existing entries
  • When to create a new entry
  • When to delete an entry

If you are looking for guidance on setting up an entry, you can find it here.

Entries and Usage Restrictions

It is best to think of an entry as a collection of information which applies to a group of events (this group can be as small as 1 event). 

An entry contains important information relating to your events -

Each of the above lives on an entry level so only events where this information is all the same should be grouped together on an entry.


When naming an entry you should ensure that the title you choose is something which is indicative of your group of events, which your bookers will recognise, and which you will recognise when managing your schedule pages.


In addition to identifying your group of events, an entry title -

1. Can be used to add usage restrictions to discount codes or block booking discounts, determining in which instances the discount can be used.

2. Can be used to add usage restrictions to Class Passes , determining in which instances the Class Pass can be used. 

If you duplicate an entry any usage restrictions you have applied to the original are copied over to the new entry as well - 

However, if the entry title is the same as the previous entry then it will become difficult to differentiate between them when adding new usage restrictions. This might be an issue if, for example, you create a new discount -

In the example above, each "Monday event" refers to a particular entry, and selecting just one will not automatically include all of its copies.

In addition, if you create a brand new entry (rather than duplicating) and you wish your discount sets and/or Class Passes usage restrictions to apply, you must manually add the entry to the usage restrictions via your discount options screen.

 
Because of this it is important to ensure that, wherever possible, you do not create new entries for events which are similar to those that have gone before. If possible it is always better to simply add new dates/times to the end of an existing entry.

This may not be possible -

  1. If there are Course tickets on your entry - these tickets apply to every date on the entry so the entry must contain only the specific dates on which the course will take place.
  2. If you need to change any of the entry level information for some (but not all) dates on your schedule.

If you do need to create a new entry you should, wherever possible, differentiate the entry titles. For instance, in the example above, you could name one entry "Monday Event - January" then "Monday event - February", "Monday event - March" etc. (please bear in mind that these entry titles will appear on your public schedule page).

Adding entries to your schedule

Day or term separation

To organise your schedule you may prefer to keep different days of the week separated on different entries, even if the entry-level information is all the same.

For instance, if you run 3 classes a week on the same days each week you might prefer to create 3 different entries, with titles along the lines of -

  1. Monday Event
  2. Wednesday Event
  3. Friday Event

Or, perhaps you operate according to set periods of time, or 'terms,' and wish to refresh your entries every few months.

For instance, with monthly terms you may have a series of entries named -

  1. September term
  2. October term
  3. November term

Adding future dates to existing entries

The dates and times that your events appear on your schedule and public page are determined in the Dates & Times section of your entry. 


In this section you can set up an event to recur forever, in which case you don't need to revisit your schedule to update events unless there are any changes.

However, if your event recurrence is limited then you will eventually need to add more dates to your schedule. A common mistake is to create a new entry when this is not necessary.

For instance, let's say that it's the 1st September and you wish to change the time of your weekly Monday 3pm event to 4pm from the 30th September onward. You could create a new entry to achieve this, but it would mean that any usage restrictions you applied to the original entry would not be valid from 30th September on. Even if you duplicate the entry, and therefore copy over usage restrictions, it would still mean that you have 2 entries with the same name, and the next time you attempt to create a discount or Class Pass to be used on the events on the new entry you will not know which of these duplicated entry names to select to refer to it.

All you need to do is set your current recurrence to end after the 23rd September -

Then create a new recurrence in Dates & Times on the same entry from 30th September onward, with the new time -

Don't forget to Save the entry when you are done!

When should I create a new entry?

If you need to change any of the entry level information for some events whilst leaving the rest the same (for instance, you are running your event from a different location on a particular week only, or you have reduced capacity on 1 day only a week) then you will need to create a separate entry.

It can be quicker to duplicate your original entry, removing the dates for which the information will change from the original entry, then removing those dates that will stay the same from the copy entry. Then you can change the location, capacity, etc. on the copy entry. You can read about duplicating entries here.

As mentioned above, the duplicated entry will retain any usage restrictions you applied to the original entry.

When should I delete an entry?

Remember, old entries will remain on the system and they can potentially clog up your usage restriction menus! If all of the dates contained on an entry have passed and you can stand to lose the entry level information you have entered (perhaps it still exists on an entry you have duplicated?) then it is worth considering deleting that old entry (edit entry - more options - view deletion information).

Any bookings received through that entry will remain on the system regardless of whether you delete the entry.



Did this answer your question?