This article outlines the differences you see when booking as an admin compared to how your booker's book. For guidance on how to manually complete a booking, please see our help article here.

If you want to view your public pages exactly as your bookers would, you should log out of your Bookwhen account. If you are still logged in as an admin or team member, you will see several differences.


An admin or team member can see the 'offline payment option and record a payment during checkout, even if payments are set to 'enforce online payment' in the entry:

The payment options are found in the Tickets & Costs section of your entry settings. However, regardless of how it is set, a team member can record a payment to show that the booker has paid by another method.

When processing a payment via Stripe, the 'save card details for later' checkbox will not be available for admins or team members when confirming payment.


An admin or team member can override ticket restrictions set in the Tickets & Costs settings in the entry:

Team members will still see the ticket restriction in red but can bypass these restrictions and continue with the booking:


An admin or team member can complete a booking even when the Waiting List is running. When new spaces open up on a fully booked event with a Waiting List, those spaces are held from public booking until everyone on the list has been contacted. However, an admin can bypass this restriction and book a ticket whenever there is space available.


An admin or team member will be able to choose from a drop-down list of their existing bookers when selecting the main booking contact, and also have the option to select Someone new or Skip selection:

Admin view:

Booker view:


An admin or team member can select attendees from a list or skip selection entirely:

Admin view:

Booker view:


A team member can bypass mandatory booking form fields on the entry:

Set mandatory fields are found in the Booking form section of your entry. Fields with a red asterisk are mandatory and must be completed by bookers. However, admin and team members can proceed without entering any further information.


A team member can book an event without entering the event password if one has been set on the entry settings.


Event passwords are set in the More options section of your entry settings. Once set, an event cannot be booked by a booker unless they enter the exact password. A team member will not see the event password field shown below and can progress straight to the next stage of checkout.

Did this answer your question?