If you enable the Waiting List, a fully booked event will give prospective attendees an option to enter their name, email and phone number (optional) to be notified if a space becomes available. 

The Waiting List function is available for Standard plan users and above.

Step 1 - Setting up the waiting list

In your booking options you have control over whether or not your waiting list is turned on, and at what intervals your customers on the waiting list are alerted of a space becoming available.

In the example settings above, if a space becomes available, the first person on the list will be notified and has 30 minutes to go through and make a booking before the next customer on the list is notified. We recommend keeping the intervals short, as otherwise it can take a long time to process a list of customers, and in the meantime the event is blocked to the public.

Step 2 - Signing up

When an event is fully booked the customer will see a green 'Join waiting list' button.

A form opens where they must leave name and email address, so that they receive the email notification of a space becoming available. If they leave a phone number this is just for your use. Bookwhen does not sent text notifications.

This is the confirmation email a customer receives when joining the list:

And this is the notification email they receive when a space becomes available:

Step 3 - Locating and managing an event waiting list

You can find people on your waiting list in the Schedule page. They appear in the attendee count summary as a +N (see screenshot below). For example, '10 +2 / 10' means 10 attendees have booked on to an event with maximum 10 spaces, plus 2 people are waiting. The waiting list is shown in the bottom right after clicking on the relevant event.

You can remove people from the list by clicking on the bin icon next to their name. You can also export details by clicking on the link at the bottom right of the list.

The Waiting list process in detail

If a place becomes available for any reason (cancellation, or more spaces being created), then the list notification process will begin:

  • The event will still be shown as fully booked on the public page.
  • The first person on the waiting list will be sent an email containing a special link enabling only them to book onto the event.
  • If they don't book within the allotted time (as set on the settings page) then the next person on the list will be sent an email with a link for them to book. At this point both people can book using their link, but the event will still be shown as fully booked to the public.
  • This continues until someone on the list takes the place, or - if nobody on the list takes the place - the event is opened back out to the public.

Please note as an administrator, you can override the waiting list functionality and book an attendee onto an event that's currently running through a waiting list, irrespective of whether that person is already on the waiting list. Just book the attendee onto the event from your public page (whilst logged in).

Some Bookwhen customers use the Waiting List to reach out to prospective new bookers and gauge demand on future events. You can read more about that here.

Tags: waitlist, waiting list, waitinglist

Did this answer your question?