Once you have created an event and directed your customers to your Public pages, they can purchase or reserve tickets for your event(s).

This article covers:

Please note: Payments can only be taken on the Lite plan or above.


How your customers book online

Your public page allows them to view the schedule you created when Setting up your first event. If you haven't done this yet, you're welcome to try making a booking on our demo page here.

Once your booker selects the date(s) they require from the schedule page, they will be presented with the ticket options you created when setting up the entry -

After selecting the ticket(s), they require, they can choose View selections or the shopping cart button at the top of the page to proceed to checkout.

Bookwhen allows selecting multiple tickets for multiple events in one transaction if required.

On the next screen, they can enter a discount code (if you have created and shared any) to reduce the price of their selection.

Once completed, they will select Book now to proceed to checkout.

Your customer will be asked to provide a booker email address (one per booking). If the email is recognised, the system asks them to create/enter a password to speed up future bookings. All details are saved for subsequent bookings, including friends' details. This means that subsequent checkouts only require an email address and password to complete  -

The information they are asked for depends on your booking form settings. By default, the system asks for the bookers' attendee information for adult attendees (for child attendees, see here). This section can also include any questions you have added to your form. 

Next, your booker is taken to the payment screen. Here, depending on your selection when creating the entry, your customer will see online or offline payments options.

Once payment has been taken or offline payment terms are acknowledged, your customer receives a booking reference -

(You can find the booking reference in the Bookings tab of your admin site should you wish to change their booking or review their information).


After your booker has completed the booking

  1. The system sends a booking confirmation email to the booker email provided.

  2. Your booker receives an invitation to create a password, which would autofill attendee fields when they return for future bookings.

  3. Your booker can view their booking details and the additional information you entered when setting up the entry.


Completing a booking is covered in our help video for bookers, which you can view here. We have other guidance for your bookers in our bookers' help centre. You can read more about the articles and how to share them in our help article.

Return to the top

Did this answer your question?