You can determine the conditions surrounding your booker's bookings and cancellations.

This article covers:


How to locate your Booking preferences

To find these settings, select Settings from the left-hand menu, then Booking preferences:


Booking

Checkout reservation period - This is how long the system reserves your booker’s place when they select Book now and begin checkout. For instance, if you set this option to '15 minutes' your booker will have 15 minutes to complete the checkout before their place is available to others again.

Learn more about how customers book through Bookwhen in our support article.


Cancellations and transfers

Allow people to cancel their own bookings? - As an administrator, you can cancel your booker’s booking at any time. This option allows bookers to do this for themselves.

Are class pass uses returned on ticket cancellation? - Determines whether a class pass use is returned upon ticket cancellation.

(Only available on the Standard plan or above).

Allow ticket transfers? - As an administrator, you can transfer your booker’s tickets to any other ticket of equivalent (or less) value at any time. This option allows your bookers to do this themselves.

(Ticket transfers are only available on Lite and above plans).

More information on transfer restrictions here.

Show refund amounts? - This shows your booker the amount that they are due if they cancel a ticket, or transfer to a ticket of lower value - refunds must be completed via your payment gateway.

Read more about transfers and cancellations here.


Waiting list

Waiting list enabled? - When enabled this option allows your Bookers to enter contact information so that Bookwhen can notify them if a place becomes available.

(Waiting list is only available on Standard and above plans). You can learn more about the waiting list feature here.


Reminders

Send reminder emails? - By enabling this option you will ensure that attendees receive a reminder email in advance of your event, you can also specify how far in advance this message will arrive.


Data retention

This setting refers to the auto-deletion of inactive bookers. A booker is classed as 'inactive' if they have not made a booking or attended an event within the defined timeframe. They will not be classed as inactive and won't be included in the auto-deletion if they have unused class pass uses remaining.

To note:

  • Bookings will remain intact for reporting purposes, but the system will remove the personal booker data.

  • Deleted bookers will not be alerted of the deletion. They can make new bookings and create a new account at any time.

  • A 24-hour grace period is started upon enabling the auto-deletion process, before which the auto-deletion will not occur.

Did this answer your question?