If you enable the Waiting list, a fully booked event will give prospective attendees an option to enter their name, email and phone number (optional) to be notified if a space becomes available.
The Waiting List function is available for Standard plan users and above, and can be switched on or off here. This is also where you can set the time interval, as explained in 'The Waiting list process' below.
Locating and managing an event waiting list
You can find people on your waiting list in the Schedule page. They appear in the attendee count summary as a +N (see screenshot below). For example, '15 +3 / 15' means 15 attendees to an event with maximum 15 attendees, plus 3 people waiting. The waiting list is shown in the bottom right after clicking on the relevant event.
You can remove people from the list by clicking on the bin icon next to their name. You can also export details by clicking on the link at the bottom right of the list.
The Waiting list process
If a place becomes available for any reason (cancellation, or more spaces being created), then the list notification process will begin:
- The event will still be shown as fully booked on the public page.
- The first person on the waiting list will be sent an email containing a special link enabling only them to book onto the event.
- If they don't book within the allotted time (as set on the settings page) then the next person on the list will be sent an email with a link for them to book. At this point both people can book using their link, but the event will still be shown as fully booked to the public.
- This continues until someone on the list takes the place, or - if nobody on the list takes the place - the event is opened back out to the public.
Please note as an administrator, you can override the waiting list functionality and book an attendee onto an event that's currently running through a waiting list, irrespective of whether that person is already on the waiting list. Just book the attendee onto the event from your public page (whilst logged in).