This article covers


Event cancellation

If you need to cancel an event, there are a few different ways, depending on how you set up your event. If you wish to remove or unpublish your event instead of cancelling, you can see here.

Cancelling a single event

Firstly, select to cancel an event on your Schedule page to highlight it. Then, from the down arrow next to Edit entry, select Cancel event:

Cancelling multiple or all events 

To cancel multiple or all events, you'll need to repeat the process above for each date and time you wish to cancel.


Course cancellation

There are two ways to cancel a single date/time within a course.

The first way to cancel a single date/time within a course is to highlight the course in your schedule by selecting it, which will show all the course dates/times on the right-hand side. Then select the attendee's icon 👨‍👧‍👦 of the date you wish to cancel:

This will bring up the attendee list for that date/time on the course. You can then select from the Options drop-down menu Cancel event:

The second way is to expand your course by filtering your schedule. To do this, please select Filter items in the top right-hand corner of your schedule:

Then tick the Expand courses box:

Select the course from your schedule, then Edit entry drop-down menu. From here, please select Cancel event:


Cancelling all dates in a course

To cancel an entire course, you will need to follow the above for each date/time on the course.



Cancellation message

When you cancel a date/time, you will be given the option to input a cancellation message. Which will then be displayed on the public booking page when a customer views the event:

This is how the cancellation message will be displayed to your customers:

A few things to consider:

  • Cancelling an event does not automatically notify attendees; they will need updating if needed.

  • Existing bookings remain intact on the cancelled date/time. So you can decide if you wish to cancel and refund or transfer customers' tickets to a different event.

  • This action will only cancel that single event and won't affect the rest of your events, even if they are part of the same entry.

  • Tickets on the public booking page will be visible on cancelled events but not selectable.

  • Reminder emails are not sent for cancelled or deleted events or entries


Reversing an event cancellation

If circumstances have changed, or you cancelled an event by accident, you can revoke a cancellation via the down arrow next to Edit entry and select Revoke event cancellation.


Notifying your customers

Whilst we don't currently have a feature that automatically sends cancellation emails, you can copy your attendee's email addresses easily into your email provider.

To do so, navigate to the attendee list for your event, select from the Options drop-down menu, and then View email list:

You can then either select Copy emails or Open in your email client and BCC them into your email provider to notify your attendees of the cancellation:


Refunding or compensating your customers

Once you've decided to cancel your event, you have a few options for handling your bookings.

  • You can cancel the customer's booking/ticket and issue a refund via the payment method.

  • Alternatively, you can transfer the customer's ticket to a different event or cancel and rebook them manually if it's a special ticket (e.g. course or group ticket).

  • You can also offer a discount code for the value they paid to redeem against a future ticket.

Return to the top

Did this answer your question?